Baby Steps of Kindness

Besides being a former pessimist turned positive thinker, I also suffer from the occasional sleepless night. Well, I WAS asleep, but then woke up at 4:30 ish AM. Um, when has getting on a computer in the middle of the night ever in the history of internet usage helped a person fall asleep? Yeah, it didn’t really work.

So I’m awake, and I’m trying to think of what kind of random act of kindness I can do next. Funny, I guess it’s sort of a lie right off the bat, as thinking of something to do sort of takes the randomness of it out of the equation. Doesn’t it?

Well no use splitting hairs about it. So, as I was sitting there going pee, as I often do when I first wake up, I thought to myself, hmmmm, I’ll do something super, dooper nice! So I put a new roll of toilet paper up so my husband wouldn’t get stuck doing it.

That counts as an act of kindness, right?

Maybe not, but hey, the day is early. And I mean EARLY, I’ll have to see what else I can come up with.

Because really, who wants to get stuck with no toilet paper in their time of need?

” Maybe you don’t like your job, maybe you didn’t get enough sleep, well nobody likes their job, nobody got enough sleep. Maybe you just had the worst day of your life, but you know, there’s no escape, there’s no excuse, so just suck up and be nice.”  ~ Ani DiFranco

2 responses

  1. Sometimes you have to plan randomness! 🙂

    I’ve done RAOK challenges before. For me, they are HARD. I mean, I always try to be nice and stuff, but going beyond that gets tricky. I did put a “no money” limit on my efforts, though. Walking up to a random person on the street and saying, “Here. Take this $20 bill,” doesn’t feel quite so fulfilling. 🙂

    • Yeah, I guess so!

      I agree that going beyond nice is a little harder than one might think! I’m not going to be as good as you, I think money might be part of mine! Like, I don’t know, leaving extra money in a vending machine or something like that. 🙂

      Thanks for stopping by!

Leave a Reply

